Scooter
Community

NSW advice needed for total newbie, please help :-)

Last post 10-21-2009 02:17 PM by PamE. 22 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-13-2009 05:05 PM

• PamE
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 10-13-2009
    • Coffs Harbour
    • Posts 10

NSW advice needed for total newbie, please help :-)

Hi,

Am total newbie so please bear with me! I don't know a thing about scooters beyond being able to drive a 125cc automatic (for which I have never had lessons nor a licence). I am moving to NSW next month. I don't have a drivers licence for a car as I never learned to drive. I will be taking driving lessons but I know it takes a long time in NSW to log up hours etc, so it'll be well over a year before I can think about cars. Meantime I'll really need some mode of independant transport, so I thought perhaps a little scooter. I've done some searching online but seems laws are different in all states, some require driver's licence etc, also am not clear about all the cc stuff and so on.

In a nutshell - is there some little motorised vehicle I can get a NSW licence for and be up and running on pretty quickly? Doesn't matter if it's just a little hairdryer, so long as it gets me from A to B on my own!

Thanks in advance Big Smile

Pam

• 10-13-2009 05:24 PM In reply to

• petegailey
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-03-2008
    • Cleared off, up the Mid Nth Coast
    • Posts 7,090

Re: NSW advice needed for total newbie, please help :-)

Hi Pam, love your avitar, welcome to the forum. In NSW you need a licence for any scooter. If you go to the RTA website you'll get all the info and requirements. Most people will start with a 125cc auto and work up from there. There are motorcycles and scooters which are LAMS approved which means that learners can ride them. They go up to about 650cc.

see:http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/licensing/gettingalicence/motorcycle/index.html