Scooter
Community

Scooters on the Narrows Bridge?

Last post 01-25-2011 12:51 PM by steve@ace. 21 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (22 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 01-27-2010 12:28 PM

Scooters on the Narrows Bridge?

Hi, I just joined.. proud owner of my first scooter, a second-hand Honda Lead 100. :)

Just wondering, since the speed limit over the Narrows Bridge here in Perth is 80km/h, is it OK for scooters to use, to South Perth and back? Or are we limited to the Causeway?

Cheers!

• 01-27-2010 12:46 PM In reply to

Re: Scooters on the Narrows Bridge?

According to here on WA freeways the minimum speed is 20ks below maximum posted speed so in theory if you can do 60kph and felt confident you could use the bridge

• 01-27-2010 01:01 PM In reply to

Thanks! omg, the freeway has a Wikipedia entry.. how bizarre. Someone must have been bored at work. :)

As a car driver, I've always wondered why the limit was 80 for so much of the way... now I know, it's so that scooters can use it! :)

• 01-27-2010 05:32 PM In reply to

legally "mopeds" or 50cc scooters aren't allowed on the freeway, or Reid Hwy, no matter what speed you're able to do or what the speed zone is. I use that stretch fairly regularly, sometimes on my 250cc scooter other times in my car, & have found that even if you're doing the 80 speed limit you're still fair game for tailgating, road rage etc Very few people do the speed limit. Forget the speed limit, you need to be able to, at the very least, keep up with what the other traffic is doing.

Wanda
    Today 50 (2,500km), Montego. Fly (2,500km), Le Grande (7,000km), Vespa PX (200km), Vespa GTS250ie (46,000km), now looking at the world through Ruby coloured glasses on a Vespa GTV300ie Vie Della Moda.
  • 01-27-2010 05:58 PM In reply to

Honda Lead is not a Moped

• 01-27-2010 06:01 PM In reply to