Scooter
Community

Helmet, Jacket, Pants and Glove suggestions please

Last post 03-26-2011 09:14 PM by pyrah. 5 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (6 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-25-2011 10:00 PM

Helmet, Jacket, Pants and Glove suggestions please

I'm a total beginner. I'll be getting my L's in a few weeks. I want to get some good gear. I am far more worried about safety and function rather than looks. I also don't want to overpay (or underpay). I'm looking for good quality value for money gear that will keep me warm, comfortable and, most importantly, safe in the event of a spill.

I assume that with a helmet I will need to go into a store and make sure the fit is 100%. I'd be happy to buy jacket, pants and gloves online if that's going to save me some money.

Please suggest some brands & models of helmets, jackets, pants and gloves that I should look at. Any that I should avoid?

Also, were is the best place in Melbourne for me to go in a buy a helmet. Do you agree that I can get the other stuff online? Which Australian websites carry decent gear and have decent prices?

--
    2006 Aprilia Scarabeo 250
  • 03-25-2011 11:39 PM In reply to

Re: Helmet, Jacket, Pants and Glove suggestions please

Try not to buy gear online as the fit must be precise for best protection and sizes and cuts vary greatly. You have Bikers Gear Warehouse down your way for a budget range of gear right up to the trendy scooter shops selling corazzo and momo gear. It really depends on your budget and taste. Down south you probably would want to buy winter and summer weight jackets.

Slow Down & Enjoy The Ride
    2012 Kawasaki W800
    Go the Retro
    Looking for another BeeWee :)
  • 03-26-2011 10:28 AM In reply to

Hi melby,