Scooter
Community

upgrading from a Sym HD200 to ....???

Last post 12-28-2015 01:48 PM by scootergal. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 12-23-2015 10:41 PM

upgrading from a Sym HD200 to ....???

Hi all - am hoping for advice and suggestions. I've been riding for about 2 years now and still consider myself a novice. Absolutely loving it commuting to work but have now discovered the joys of longer distance rides and weekend trips away. Now looking forward to a ride around Tassie; the mountains etc. The last trip of around 450km each way was a breeze comfort wise but my poor scoot was struggling up the hills dropping back to around 75km with nothing more to give.

I love the big wheels and being tall the hd200 is a good fit except it would be nice on the long rides to be able to stretch out the legs a bit; am hoping to find something with ABS and traction control - black ice here in winter is always on my mind.

Anyone have any suggestions on an upgrade - anything over 300cc is the same cost to register as a car but I am prepared to keep my baby (sym) and only register the other one for the summer if I get something bigger.  Considering the BMW and the Burgmann *2014 I think has the bigger wheels.  But worried that jumping from the hd to a 650cc might be a bit too much to cope with.

Thanks

Scootergal

• 12-24-2015 08:52 AM In reply to

Re: upgrading from a Sym HD200 to ....???

I had HD200 and then I ugraded to Piaggio Beverly. I found 350cc was plenty enough for out of town trips, I think it would serve you well on Tassie roads. It has large wheels too, which is nice for stability. I don't think you really need BMW or Burgman - it's not so much the engine size that is the problem, but their bulk, and in case of the beemer, also the height - it's a very tall bike! Beverly sits in a nice spot , good balance between ability and size.