Scooter
Community

Total Newbie Need help on what to buy

Last post 01-24-2008 09:10 PM by FreedomSeeker. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 01-23-2008 01:19 AM

Total Newbie Need help on what to buy

Im after my first bike I have $4000 maximum any less would be a bonus, it doesnt have to be new (near new would be ok)

I need to be able to cruise on freeway at 100km, but I dont want a big heavy scooter, the lighter more compact  the better.(Im pretty weak lol)

It must be good quality and totally reliable.

Im 6ft 2 and weigh 75kgs

I havent attempted to look at any scooters yet, I thought you riders could lead me in the right direction.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Simon

• 01-23-2008 02:06 AM In reply to

Re: Total Newbie Need help on what to buy

Simon

You have not mentioned whether you hold a full licence or where you live.

If you are a learner then you will be limited to 80 km/h,  if probationary then 90 km/h, so you would be a little limited trying to travel on freeways.

But generally if you are looking for a compact scoot,  you really need to try them for size as at 6' 2" some scoots will be too small for you to comfortably ride.

That said, you probably need to be looking at least a 125cc preferably 150cc or more for regular freeway work. 

In the up to $4000.00 including on road costs range there would be new Bolwell Arriba 125, Bolwell VS125, Bug Agility 125 and Piaggio Fly 125 (the Fly is probably too small for you),  if you were looking at late model used then the market would include various 150cc.

In used scooters, if you could find any of the following at your price with very low mileage they would be worthy of consideration:

Bolwell Arriba XS150,  Bolwell G-Max 150, Bolwell Euro 150, Bolwell HD200 (180cc), Bug Expresso 150cc,  Honda @125, Piaggio Liberty 125 or 150, Yamaha Vino 125 or Yamaha Cygnus 125.