Scooter
Community

in
ADVERTISEMENT
ScooterAccessories

Gilera Runner

Last post 07-17-2008 05:49 PM by steve@ace. 22 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 07-13-2008 03:34 PM

Gilera Runner

Hello all, I have just joined up and hope you can help me with a question. I have been rinding motorbikes for 10 years and am now thinking of switching to scooters

I have been looking at ads for earlier Gileras. Can anyone tell me the differences (if any) between the:

VXR 180

180 SP

VXR200

also,are you aware if sourcing parts will be difficult for these scooters?

Thanks for any help

• 07-13-2008 06:35 PM In reply to

Re: Gilera Runner

the runner didn't come into australia. try some of the pommy websites. i think a few came as private imports.

argentum melle
  • 07-13-2008 08:07 PM In reply to

Ok,

I thought they were offically imported a few years ago, maybe 01/02?

there does seem to be a few around

• 07-13-2008 08:32 PM In reply to

billiam:

Ok,

I thought they were offically imported a few years ago, maybe 01/02?

there does seem to be a few around

I test rode one at a dealer a few years ago,  so I too thought they were officially imported,  certainly the numbers of the 180 model around even today would seem to support that......   Tongue Tied

Deklan 

“It’s not the destination but the journey”
    Vespa GT200 in Grigio (Smokey Grey)

• 07-13-2008 08:54 PM In reply to

They were officially imported, but not by the current importer.  The 180 was a 2-stroke, the 200 which replaced it a 4-stroke. Not sure about the distinction between the 180 models.   The 2-stroke 180 is a rocket.  Very, very good fun to ride, but if you find one a decent second hand one now, then its longevity will certainly be influenced by spare parts availability.  You can get them, but it might take time...

Ace Scooters - practitioners to the scooter addicted.

www.acescooters.com.au
  • 07-13-2008 09:08 PM In reply to

steve@ace: