Scooter
Community

Is this true - you don't need to know road rules to ride a scooter/motorbike?!

Last post 03-09-2013 11:05 AM by awa355. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 02-26-2010 07:50 PM

Is this true - you don't need to know road rules to ride a scooter/motorbike?!

According to the Dept of Transport, you can get an R-N (moped) or R-E (250cc) bike licence without first having a car licence. All you need to do is correctly answer 12 out of 15 really basic questions. What they call the "motorcycle theory test". 15 questions!

So you an get a scooter/motorbike licence without knowing anything about road signs or any other rules about driving.. nothing about traffic lights, signs, lines on the road, pedestrian crossings, nothing!

I'm a newbie to bikes and only just getting my R-E learners, but this doesn't make sense to me. Isn't it terribly dangerous to send a teenager out on a motorbike without needing a normal car licence or know anything about road rules?

• 02-26-2010 08:22 PM In reply to

Re: Is this true - you don't need to know road rules to ride a scooter/motorbike?!

If you don't have a car license then you have to pass the road rules theory test first

• 02-26-2010 08:52 PM In reply to

Re: Is this true - you don't need to know road rules to ride a scooter/motorbike?!

That's a relief.. it seemed to say, particularly for mopeds, that all you need is to be 16 or a parental signoff. Seemed a bit odd.

• 07-18-2011 02:14 PM In reply to

You have to take a similar test to get your (car) L's - so L's drivers don't know the road rules either.

• 07-18-2011 02:38 PM In reply to

nascentrider:

According to the Dept of Transport, you can get an R-N (moped) or R-E (250cc) bike licence without first having a car licence. All you need to do is correctly answer 12 out of 15 really basic questions. What they call the "motorcycle theory test". 15 questions!