Scooter
Community

Recommendations for new and very tall rider

Last post 04-21-2010 05:20 PM by pyrah. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 04-21-2010 10:46 AM

• grazer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 04-13-2010
    • Posts 2

Recommendations for new and very tall rider

I'm new to motorcycle riding and I'm 208cm (6'10"), so I'm looking for suggestions for both the new and the tall rider.

I've seen a few posts about scooters for tall riders, and no disrespect, but it seems most suggestions are for people around 6'4".  6'4" is tall but I can say that extra 6" makes a difference. 

I have had a sit on a Honda Silver Wing and thought it would be adequate for my height without being ideal. I haven't tried a Burgman yet but I imagine that would be good too.  The issue with a maxi like those is I'm not sure as a newbie that I want to spend that much on my first ride.  On the other hand a maxi might suit me more in the long run as I would eventually want to do freeway riding rather than just short local trips.

Any thoughts gratefully accepted.

• 04-21-2010 12:00 PM In reply to

Re: Recommendations for new and very tall rider

Welcome to the forum grazer. You pose a somewhat unique requirement when it comes to scootering. 

The scooters you mentioned are both top end, superb examples with ABS brakes too. Just plain sitting on them (off the centre stand) will tell you heaps. I am a mere 6'1" and did the same test when I started this caper 2 years ago. And on much smaller capacity scooters. So many were ruled out due to lack of legroom.

I ride a Honda SH300i which has plenty of knee and leg room for me. Try it out when next at your Honda dealer. It is a very capable tourer. And almost as nimble as a 125 around the city. The Scarabeo 300 and 500 should also be tested for size. Both are top notch scooters.

Also the Aprillia Mana auto motorcycle is worth a look. It has been accused of being too tall by those with a different challenge to you.