Scooter
Community

Mopeds and the law in Qld - common misconceptions!

Last post 12-03-2013 08:08 AM by Twonk. 22 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-14-2013 10:39 PM

• SteveK
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 09-25-2013
    • Posts 6

Mopeds and the law in Qld - common misconceptions!

Hi,

My name is Steve and I'm new here. I am a lawyer in Brisbane and I have recently bought myself what I think is a moped (an Aprilia SR MT50), and I love it!

What caused me to write this post is the amount of misinformation I have heard and read (some of it on here), about laws in Qld. The most common one I've heard is that you can't ride a moped at more than 50 km/hr on a car licence. This is incorrect.

Some people have correctly noted that the law surrounding mopeds, and scooters in general, in Qld is extremely confusing. (And, in Qld, a scooter is that toy your kid rides, maybe with an electric motor or two - anything with two or three wheels and a petrol motor is a motorbike, not a scooter) (And a moped is a type of motorbike, so I haven't forgotten to include it here!) (And yes, you can have an electric motorbike but let's not get bogged down before I even begin!)

Let's start with "what is a moped?". This is different in different states. In Qld it is actually different for different purposes! It truly is a mess but stay with me.

If we are talking about a question of licencing, like "can I ride a moped on a car licence?", then you would turn to the Transport Operations (Road Use Management—Driver Licensing) Regulation 2010, which says that you can ride a moped on a car licence, and defines a moped (in Schedule 9) to be:

moped means a motorbike—
    (a) that either—
    (i) is fitted with an electric motor; or
    (ii) has an internal combustion engine with an engine capacity of not more than 50mL; and
    (b) that has a manufacturer’s top rated speed of not more than 50km/h; and
    (c) that is not a bicycle.