Scooter
Community

Dilemma: To ride or not to ride?

Last post 05-16-2011 10:40 PM by wombat. 93 replies.
Page 1 of 7 (94 items) 1 2 3 4 5 Next > ... Last »
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-21-2009 09:38 PM

• mich_t
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-21-2009
    • Sydney
    • Posts 44

Dilemma: To ride or not to ride?

Hi all,

I'm new to scootering, just bought a Piaggio Liberty 125cc and have my Ls. I want to commute to uni with my scooter. My dilemma is that people, including doctors are trying to convince me not use it, saying that I'm taking unnecessary risks and there's a good chance I'll die, leaving my two babies without a mother. One even said that riders are called "organ-donors" at major hospitals. This has really shaken my faith that I'll be okay commuting to uni safely.

Obviously, none of us are fortune-tellers and I know that generally, riding is much more risky than driving. I've researched on the internet and the information is somewhat mixed. One article said only a handful of scooterers have died in Australia in the last 10 years, which I thought was a positive statistic.

I wanted to ask what your opinions are, since you are all informed and experienced scooterers. Is it really that risky and do a lot of scooterers die? Do you guys regularly have bad experiences on the road?

Here is some info about me to assist your assessment: 30 year, will be travelling 30km each way a couple of days a week, plus local riding in Sydney. I'll be taking back roads and trying not to ride during peak hour to start with. Very conservative rider/driver, intend to take lots of riding courses. I have a helmet, armoured jacket, fluoro vest and gloves.

I'm sure you get asked this all the time, but I would really appreciate your help.

Thanks,

Michelle.

• 03-21-2009 09:54 PM In reply to

• Dakoda
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 09-27-2007
    • Brisbane Bayside
    • Posts 6,372

Re: Dilemma: To ride or not to ride?