Scooter
Community

New to the Scootering World! Need some help with understanding the basics (such as laws etc).

Last post 04-02-2009 07:40 PM by Jeff. 22 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 03-28-2009 12:01 AM

New to the Scootering World! Need some help with understanding the basics (such as laws etc).

Hey guys (and gals),
    I'm a uni student, got my Open Car License and have to give back my parents car, which will leave me transport-less. However, with thanks to the Gov. Stimulus, I am preparing to buy my very first Scooter (a 2006 Bug Jive 50cc, so I don't need a motorcycle license).

One of my first concerns is: is it difficult to do the leaning over to turn corner thing? I know I sound completely noob-ish but I have NEVER driven a scooter or motorcycle before and it just looks so..complex.

My second question is: I live in Nth Queensland in Townsville and I have to cross a Ring Road (like a highway) every time I go to Uni or work, the speed limit is 100km/h on the Ring Road and the scooter can only (legally) do 50km/h, would I be able to drive on the shoulder of the Ring Road to get to the places I need to go, or is this action illegal (I ask "can I drive on the shoulder" because if I don't then I am sure to annoy alot of drivers, which wouldn't be much fun!).

Much thanks

• 03-28-2009 12:39 AM In reply to

• petegailey
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-03-2008
    • Cleared off, up the Mid Nth Coast
    • Posts 7,090

Re: New to the Scootering World! Need some help with understanding the basics (such as laws etc).

azz_from_oz:

One of my first concerns is: is it difficult to do the leaning over to turn corner thing? I know I sound completely noob-ish but I have NEVER driven a scooter or motorcycle before and it just looks so..complex.